Product Review and GIVE AWAY – Audio Flood Waterproof iPod Shuffle

If you haven’t figured it out by now, I am not much of a swimmer. I love to leisurely splash around in the pool, lake, or ocean as much as anyone else, but ask me to swim competitively and likely I don’t want to play anymore. Alas, the downfall of being a triathlete, all that dang swimming.

Lucky for me I had a ton of work to do on my swimming this year, so the pool and I became quite acquainted. And I learned to really love swimming. I got stronger, my endurance in the water skyrocketed, and I really began to look forward to my time in the pool. Until a few months later, when it started to get routine, boring. So.Many.Laps. UGH.

And then the heavens opened up and a pretty little box from my friends over at AudioFlood showed up on my doorstep.

af5

Yes indeed, they sent me a waterproofed ipod shuffle package and I was completely delighted! The whole package comes with all sorts of goodies too.

af6

Waterproof earbuds, tons of earbud sizing options, swim cap, extra cord to make the shortie headphones regular length so you can use them for running in the rain, little mesh bag to keep it all contained, and of course the iPod itself. It also came with a single squeeze tube of crazy glue which I haven’t figured out yet.

It is just a regular old iPod shuffle, so if you’ve used one before than you already are an expert at operating it. There are quite a few options for waterproof music for swimming, but after looking long and hard at those other options, you just can’t beat a good old fashion iPod. If you already have iTunes then just plug in, dump some music on it, and you’re ready to go. A lot of the other swimming MP3 options required alternative music programs and one even required converting file types. Yeah, no thanks. Everyone and their mother knows how to work an iPod and iTunes. It just makes so much sense to just get a waterproof iPod. There’s just no other way around that fact as far as I’m concerned.

af1

Connector cable for synching music and charging as well as regular earbuds. After all, waterproof or not, it’s still just an iPod and you can use it for everything, not just swimming!

AudioFlood has a unique process that they use to waterproof their iPods.

Our proprietary waterproofing process fills the entire inside of the Shuffle with a continuous layer of soft yet highly corrosion resistant sealant. Unlike multi layer waterproofing, this ensures that the sealant protects against corrosion all the way from the outer housing to the internal electronics.” –AudioFlood website

Single Layer Waterproofing

The headphones are completely water proof too and come with loads of options to make sure you get the right fit, comfortably. And lets chat a minute here. I HATE EARBUDS. I don’t like them, I don’t use them, and I truly believe they were created to spite me. However earbuds are non-negotiable in the water. If water gets in your ear under the bud you will lose sound to that ear since the sound waves won’t permeate through the water layer between the earbuds and your inner ear. This means you not only have to use earbuds, but they need to fit perfectly.

I was insanely sceptical about the earbud situation, not gonna lie. Thankfully they send about six different sizes and type of earbud replacement pieces.

uw6

I personally went with the tree shaped ones. I found they created a great seal that kept water out. It did take me a few tries of mixing and matching sizes to get it right, but once I got it they worked well. And I have since learned to tolerate appreciate using the earbuds. Only in the pool though, I still stick with my Rocketfish Bluetooth Headphones for all my other headphone needs.

So, swimming with this thing?

uw4

Ignore my goggles, I broke my good ones yesterday

Awesome! Lap swimming can get super boring after a while and this makes endless laps so much better. So far so good in terms of use and it’s ability to hold up against the chlorine. It has a nice little clip on the back so I just clip it to my goggle strap and it’s good to go. And since it’s just an iPod and all the buttons are always the same, I can toggle through songs or adjust the volume easily without unclipping it.

I clip mine to the back of my goggle strap. I find that to be easiest and most comfortable.

uw3

 

uw1

The sound quality is great and I haven’t had a single issue with any of it. And, AudioFlood’s customer service is amazing. They are so quick to respond and truly are there to ensure you get a product that works exactly as you need it to. Not going to lie, this little thing has completely revolutionized how I look at and think about lap swimming.

And Audio Flood is going to do the same for one of my readers. Below is a rafflecopter giveaway for a FREE iPod Waterproof Shuffle Package that one lucky reader is going to win. And the people at Audio Flood are so awesome they’re even going to let you pick any color you want! So enter today and then make sure you keep coming back everyday to enter again. The giveaway goes until Wednesday July, 16 2014!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

95 Thoughts on “Product Review and GIVE AWAY – Audio Flood Waterproof iPod Shuffle

  1. Precious on July 2, 2014 at 7:39 am said:

    Love it too!!!!

  2. I swim for leisure 🙂

  3. This is an awesome little gadget. I’m hoping I win to make the laps more enjoyable. Plus, I could wear it during my mud runs. If I’m not so lucky, I might have to buy one myself 🙂
    The Famous Mudder recently posted…Week 16 RecapMy Profile

  4. amalina on July 2, 2014 at 8:27 am said:

    I swim for leisure to take my mind off 🙂

  5. sweet! a friend of mine has one of these and uses it during OWS. I think I would like that!
    Hannah recently posted…Vacation Update!My Profile

  6. I’ve been desperately wanting one of these. I have a non waterproof ipod shuffle for running that I love, but I really wanted a waterproof one since I can swim with a team right now 🙁 I’ve been swimming for sport since I was 9 =)
    Steph recently posted…Safe Harbor Cycle TourMy Profile

  7. Brittany on July 2, 2014 at 9:11 am said:

    I’ve been thinking about getting into the pool for exercise in the hot summer, and this would make it so much more fun!

  8. Ellen R. on July 2, 2014 at 9:23 am said:

    Oh wow, this would make lap swimming so much better! While I enjoy swimming and am working really hard to get better at it, sometimes it’s just boring! Great idea!

  9. Stephanie Meehan on July 2, 2014 at 9:37 am said:

    I swim for both!

  10. This is exactly what I need to get my booty in the pool more often and to stay in LONGER once I get there. I just started swimming in January and am really, really slow. My triathlon times suffer because of it and I can’t compete at the level I want to without a stronger swim. I am really hoping to invest a lot into swimming these next few months and could really use some musical motivation. It seems like such an easy and simple device. Thanks for the review.
    Kristen @ Glitter and Dust recently posted…Top Ten Finish At The Pacific Crest Olympic TriathlonMy Profile

  11. Lisa Jones on July 2, 2014 at 9:58 am said:

    I’m not a great swimmer but something like this will motivate to swim more. I swim for leisure more than anything right now seeing my 5 year old is learning to swim

  12. I just gave away my shuffle to my BRF who’s kids stole hers. I’d previously used it for swimming (I have a waterproof case). Fun stuff!
    Miranda @ Cupcake Triathlete recently posted…Race Recap – New England Trifest Olympic TriathlonMy Profile

  13. I swim for leisure right now but I’m hoping to start swimming for exercise. Still contemplating doing a sprint tri!

  14. I love being in the water! Right now, I’m swimming for training – I just finished three sprint triathlons, taking a few weeks off for a marathon coming up, then it’s back to the water to train for my first 70.3 in late October (70.3Austin)! Now that I’m starting to log more time in the pool for the 70.3, music would be a nice distraction!

  15. Swim (so very much lately) for triathlon! I have spent so much time in the pool for the last many, many months for IM training. I love my water proof Ipod and like I mentioned before, it has recently stopped working…which makes me very sad. I have very very dependent on it for about 1 1/2 years to get me through the boring lap swimming!!
    Lee@tri*inspired*life recently posted…At the End of the Month!!!My Profile

  16. Just completed my first Tri and found that I need a lot of work on my swimming. This is an awesome idea to help those laps go by faster.
    Captain Competition recently posted…The Week That Was – (June 23 – June 29)My Profile

  17. Oooh i totally want this! I just finished my first half ironman and could’ve used it then for sure!
    Katie @ Daily Cup of Kate recently posted…July GoalsMy Profile

  18. I’ve always wanted to try this!

  19. Arena Thompson on July 2, 2014 at 12:41 pm said:

    just for fun 🙂

  20. Right now, I just swim for fun, but I’m considering amping up my training and trying to hit up a triathlon next year!

  21. Deborah on July 2, 2014 at 1:30 pm said:

    I don’t swim well enought for a tri (that’s an understatement). I only swim for leisure, which is sad, because I love cycling and running.

  22. I want to swim for sport, but haven’t quite gotten my game up. Would love to do a tri!

  23. Kristin on July 2, 2014 at 2:00 pm said:

    sport

  24. I like to swim for pleasure.

  25. I’m a baby triathlete so it’s all for sport now.

  26. Jessica L on July 2, 2014 at 2:24 pm said:

    both! I LOVE to swim!

  27. I swim for sport.
    Leyna Odell recently posted…Half Ironman Training Weeks 1 – 4My Profile

  28. I was about to start training for a triathlon when I got pregnant. Baby is now 2 weeks old and I will start training soon! So I was a leisure swimmer, but am changing to sport 🙂
    Beth P recently posted…My baby is here!My Profile

  29. I do like to swim and these would be great!
    Deborah @ Confessions of a Mother Runner recently posted…Hiking, Running & Eating my way through Stowe, VermontMy Profile

  30. Kayla on July 2, 2014 at 2:40 pm said:

    I wish I didn’t live an hour away from the nearest pool, because I absolutely love swimming! I do try to get some serious pool time in whenever we make it to town or spend the night at a hotel!

  31. I hope this giveaway is open to Canadians because this would be awesome! Wish they had this kind of technology when I was training regularly for tris.

  32. Tammy McConnell George on July 2, 2014 at 2:49 pm said:

    I love to swim. It gives a good workout and also is fun!

  33. I swim for leisure for sure.

  34. Erika on July 2, 2014 at 3:01 pm said:

    Leisure but lots of Kayaking =)

  35. KASIA MINOR on July 2, 2014 at 3:04 pm said:

    I swim for both! I just did my first sprint triathlon last weekend and I’ve got another one planned for August! I love to swim- so the swim is actually my strongest out of the swim bike run aspect! 🙂 Great review on the waterproof ipod- I’ve been wondering if it’s worth it to spend the money this one or should I try to make a cheaper work…Maybe I’ll win this one 🙂

  36. I swim for…well, I guess leisure, if you can call it that! It’s supposed to be for cross-training, but as I just posted a blog about, swimming once a month hardly constitutes cross-training…or even leisure at that rate. I’d really like to get back into swimming at least once a week like I was doing when I was training for my triathlon, but now that I’m focused more on running, it seems harder to force myself to go because I agree with you – it is boring!
    Darilyn Weiss recently posted…Let Summer Begin – June RecapMy Profile

  37. Just coming off an IT band injury so I’d love to have this in case my leg starts acting up again! I also want to try to incorporate more swimming into my workouts, especially now that the water is warm!
    Gloria recently posted…Staying in Shape While TravelingMy Profile

  38. I swim for both! I’m a triathlete too so I swim because I “have” to but I LOVE to swim and it’s my favorite sport!
    Emily recently posted…Wordless Wednesday: WIAWMy Profile

  39. Scott on July 2, 2014 at 7:07 pm said:

    I swim for sport–not triathlons but as crosstraining for my running. I do bike as well, so maybe one day I’ll pick up the sport. I also don’t listen to music when I run or bike, primarily for safety reasons, but being in the pool is a little different. I’d love to win this.

  40. Julie on July 2, 2014 at 7:36 pm said:

    For both! Swimming is my favorite part of triathlon. Endless mindless hours going back and forth…Heavenly.

  41. Jenny on July 2, 2014 at 8:39 pm said:

    For both!!

  42. I swim for fun but also for a workout.
    Shay @ Whine Less, Breathe More recently posted…Where My Ballers At?My Profile

  43. Stacey Niedzwiecki on July 2, 2014 at 8:59 pm said:

    I only swim for fun, but it is an enjoyable exercise.

  44. I swim for sport, but at an extremely leisurely pace. 😉 I’m just starting to get more comfortable with swimming laps, since my goal is to compete in a sprint triathlon next year. This is such a cool giveaway! Thanks for hosting!
    Lex @ Flecks of Lex recently posted…World Cup Bingo (printable version below)My Profile

  45. Laurel C on July 2, 2014 at 10:06 pm said:

    I swim for triathlon, for fitness, and because I just love it! In fact, I just came from the pool

  46. Laura W on July 2, 2014 at 11:28 pm said:

    Definitely swim for exercise – sadly, more for recovery from long run than even for triathlon training!

  47. leisure 100%. I am super duper ooper slow at swimming
    Jennifer Turner recently posted…Bryn’s ArmyMy Profile

  48. bianca roman on July 3, 2014 at 6:15 am said:

    i swim for leisure, but i don’t do it all the time because i feel like i’m not any good at all LOL

  49. This looks great. I swim for fun, but eventually want to do for sport in the form of a triathalon.

  50. Luke on July 3, 2014 at 11:57 am said:

    I only ever swim for tri training. Does anyone actually swim for fun?

  51. So need this–I swim for both! Sport and injury prevention as well as pleasure. I just get rather cold in water, so that has cut down on the pleasure swimming in the past few years, ever since a bad experience. But I used to be a “fish”!
    Susie @ SuzLyfe recently posted…Watching TV At Work #thinkingoutloudMy Profile

  52. Erin from Long island on July 5, 2014 at 2:01 am said:

    I mostly swim for pleasure, usually at the beach!

  53. BreannaS on July 5, 2014 at 11:48 am said:

    I swim for leisure but have been flirting with the idea of training for a tri next year.

  54. susie king on July 5, 2014 at 4:21 pm said:

    I swim for leisure. Thanks for the review and opportunity.

  55. Kassie on July 5, 2014 at 5:57 pm said:

    I swim for leisure, thanks so much for the giveaway!

  56. I swim for leisure.
    jen recently posted…TTTMy Profile

  57. I splash around the pool with my kids…I wouldn’t really call it either. 🙂
    Sharon recently posted…Three Years Ago Today…My Profile

  58. Leah on July 5, 2014 at 9:08 pm said:

    I swim for sport as cross-training!

  59. Barbie on July 5, 2014 at 9:27 pm said:

    I swim for leisure. I love it. So relaxing

  60. Wow, these sound so cool. Unfortunately, I don’t ever swim (with the exception of taking Ashton to swim lessons on Saturday mornings!)
    Sara @ lifebetweenthemiles recently posted…Five FoodsMy Profile

  61. Kristen Brumbaugh on July 6, 2014 at 4:21 pm said:

    I will for sport and leisure. Leisure being when I’m on vacation. Most of my swimming though is for training. However, it does make me look at every lake I come across and make me want to swim in it. : )

  62. Winning this sure would add some uplifting beats to all my tri training laps !
    Cassandra @PoweredByBling recently posted…Galloway Method Mondays: Safely Increasing Your MileageMy Profile

  63. Only leisure… mostly just swimming with the family for fun.

  64. Megan on July 8, 2014 at 11:38 pm said:

    I do both, although after swimming competitively through college I had to teach myself how to relax in the pool 🙂

  65. Jim Lipscomb on July 9, 2014 at 4:53 am said:

    I swim definitely for leisure!

  66. Quincey S on July 9, 2014 at 6:55 am said:

    I mostly swim for pleasure, but have recently been getting interested in triathlons, so I am starting to take it up as sport! What a blast it would be to be able to listen to music while I’m at it, too!

  67. Tabatha Carlson on July 9, 2014 at 9:27 am said:

    I swim for fun. I wish I could take some type of water aerobics class though but it just doesn;t fit into my schedule right now

  68. Neither! I would love to incorporate swim for exercise though! I think this could be the ticket!! Thank you!
    Erica @ erica finds recently posted…Hey Chicago – Have a Healthier “Taste” and More This Weekend!My Profile

  69. I don’t swim for sport now, but I think I will start doing it for cross training in the fall when I start training for my first full marathon!
    Amy Albers recently posted…Peachtree Road Race Food Hoarders: The TakeawayMy Profile

  70. Kristen M on July 9, 2014 at 4:21 pm said:

    I swim mostly for leisure. I would love to swim more for workout purposes but find it difficult while being in charge of small kids at the pool.

  71. Sharon Howard on July 9, 2014 at 5:21 pm said:

    I Love staying at and in the pool in this Summer heat but I’m not a swimmer at all. I just enjoy relaxing and cooling off in the pool. I prefer going to the mountains hiking over going to the beach.

  72. No I do not swim but this would be great for races with water.
    tara pittman recently posted…Naan:Indian Oven Bread Made With Organic Kalonji SeedsMy Profile

  73. Mostly for leisure… but now that we have a pool nearby I’m thinking about trying it for sport!
    Becky @ Disney in your Day recently posted…1 Year Blog-iversary!My Profile

  74. Angel (@AquaGoddessDC) on July 9, 2014 at 9:56 pm said:

    I swim for both sport AND leisure…check out the Twitter name, lol.

  75. Jill on July 9, 2014 at 10:00 pm said:

    I swim more for leisure.

  76. Hi,

    I would like to win. I bought a red audioflood iPod in dec last year. It is amazing but last week I’ve lost it during my training for the triathlon this Saturday in Hamburg, Germany. I guess it was during a bike trip were I didn’t use it but had it with me. I’m really sad now. I would buy the honest finder a new iPod shuffle (without audioflood) but I don’t know if I could afford to buy a second waterproof one.

    BR,
    Holger
    Holger recently posted…Car2Go vs. DriveNowMy Profile

  77. Ashlyn B. on July 10, 2014 at 8:13 pm said:

    I swim for the exercise so I guess a bit of both…but mostly leisure as I’m not competing.

  78. Elle on July 11, 2014 at 6:51 pm said:

    I swim mostly for exercise but am not technical about it, I just do what’s fun and keep MOVING.

  79. Carla S on July 12, 2014 at 6:42 am said:

    I swim only for leisure.

  80. I swim for leisure.

  81. I let my insecurities keep me from swimming for a long time and I’m ready to get back to it, but just for leisure.
    Kristin recently posted…My Fit Faves {Part 1}My Profile

  82. Liz Pardue on July 14, 2014 at 11:25 am said:

    I would love to win this! I could run and cool off in Lake Michigan with no worries! 🙂

  83. Linda on July 14, 2014 at 12:22 pm said:

    I definitely swim for leisure. I like to just do my own thing.

  84. steven weber on July 14, 2014 at 1:40 pm said:

    I swim for pleasure/leisure..

  85. Natasha on July 14, 2014 at 8:16 pm said:

    I love swimming- especially in lakes or the ocean!

  86. Anna Solomon on July 15, 2014 at 2:35 pm said:

    I so badly want this! I have never used anything waterproof because it scares me, and the swim is my weakness… I never thought to add music to make it more entertaining! Gah! You’re so wise 🙂

  87. Holly Skiff on July 15, 2014 at 2:38 pm said:

    I would love this – not only to motivate me to keep a rhythm, but it could also serve as ear plugs I would actually use to keep the water out – I shake my head like a crazy dog trying to get the water out after a swim – sometimes during.

  88. Becky H on July 15, 2014 at 3:51 pm said:

    Swimming with music would be awesome, great giveaway!

  89. Jeremy Rance on July 15, 2014 at 4:48 pm said:

    I work in a hotel so luckily i can swim for free after a shift to unwind

  90. Michael T on July 15, 2014 at 11:43 pm said:

    We swim for pleasure

  91. Liberty T. on July 15, 2014 at 11:44 pm said:

    I do both, for exercise and leisure. I love to swim laps to get my heart rate up and burn calories.

  92. What’s up, just wanted to tell you, I liked this post.
    It was funny. Keep on posting!
    tr.im recently posted…tr.imMy Profile

Post Navigation